History repeats itself 100 years on

November 22, 2020

Cavan players celebrate after beating Donegal. ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy.

What were the odds on this happening!

One-hundred years on, and on the same weekend as the GAA commemorated Bloody Sunday, the same All-Ireland SFC semi-final pairings have materialised. Tipperary and Cavan's shock Munster and Ulster SFC final victories over Cork and Donegal respectively have paved the way for Dublin v Cavan and Tipperary v Mayo semi-final pairings at Croke Park in a fortnight's time.

Back in 1920, Dublin beat Cavan by 3-6 to 1-3, while Tipperary defeated Mayo by 1-5 to 1-0 before overcoming the Dubs in the All-Ireland final on a 1-6 to 1-2 scoreline.

The first of this year's All-Ireland SFC semi-finals will see six-in-a-row chasing Dublin take on Cavan in Croke Park on Saturday, December 5 at 5.30pm. It will be followed on Sunday, December 6 by the other semi-final between Mayo and Tipperary at 3.30pm. 

Most Read Stories