Trivia about this weekend's football games

November 20, 2020

A flash back to the 1991 Meath v Dublin saga

Which county hasn’t conceded a goal in two years, who is in consecutive finals for the first time in five decades and who is seeking a second win over their opposition in 76-years.

Meath v Dublin, Leinster SFC final

- Dublin are seeking their 30th successive win in the Leinster championship, with their last defeat coming against Meath in the 2010 semi-final.

- Meath’s last win over Dublin in the Leinster final was in 2001, which was also Dublin’s last defeat in the final.

- Dublin haven’t conceded a goal in the Leinster championship since James Stafford scored for Wicklow in the 2018 quarter-final. Since then Dublin have kept clean sheets in seven games.

- This will be Stephen Cluxton’s 12th championship game against Meath. Dublin won nine of the previous eleven, Meath won one (2010) and there was one draw (2007). He conceded eight goals in those 11 games, with Meath scoring five of them in the 2010 Leinster semi-final.

- The last time Meath knocked Dublin out of the championship was in 1999, which was coincidentally also the last year that Cork had knocked Kerry out of the championship until two weeks ago. The last time Dublin knocked Meath out of the championship was in 1995, the season they won their first All-Ireland in 12-years.

Cavan v Donegal, Ulster SFC final

- This is the first time Cavan have reached successive finals since the late 1960s.

- Donegal are in the final for the ninth time in ten seasons. The only year they missed out was 2017.

- Cavan last beat Donegal in the championship in the 2005 qualifiers. Their last success over Donegal in the Ulster championship was in 1997 when they last lifted the Anglo Celt Cup.

Tipperary v Cork, Munster SFC final

- Tipperary’s last win over Cork in the championship was in the 2016 Munster semi-final. Prior to that, Tipperary hadn’t beaten Cork in the championship since the 1944 Munster semi-final.

It's a bumper weekend of inter-county championship matches with football deciders in Leinster, Munster and Ulster, two All-Ireland hurling quarter-finals, two Joe McDonagh Cup ties and the Christy Ring and Nicky Rackard Cup finals. Be sure to follow all of the action live on the match tracker.

Most Read Stories